sulabh swatchh bharat

Tuesday, 21-May-2019


New Delhi| The President of India, Pranab Mukherjee has named 89 people for the country's highest civilian awards, including seven Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri awards, to mark the country’s 68th Republic Day.


The list included senior politicial Sharad Pawar, Murli Manohar Joshi, Late J&K Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Late PA Sangma, Late MP CM Sunder Lal Patwah and legendary singer KJ Yesudas for the seven recipients of the Padma Vibhushan, India's second-highest civilian honour.

The awardees included 19 women and five persons NRIs/PIOs (Persons of Indian Origin) while six of the awards have been made posthumously.

Popular singers Kailash Kher and Anuradha Paudwal are among this year's Padma Shri awardees while Cricket captain Virat Kohli, hockey captain P.R. Sreejesh, 2016 Olympic medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, and para-athletes Deepa Malik and Mariyappan Thangavelu are also named for the prestigious Padma Shri, the country's fourth highest civilian award.

Apart from them, gymnast sensation Dipa Karmakar, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricketer Shekhar Naik also figure in the last of awardees.

Nonogenarian Bhakti Yadav, popularly known as "Doctor Dadi" from Indore, and captain of Indian cricket team of blind Shekhar Naik are among the unsung heroes who were today named for Padma Shri.

Dipa Karmakar, who finished fourth in artistic gymnastics at Rio Olympics last year, and gold medallist at Rio Paralympics Mariyappan Thangavelu also figured in the list of Padma Shri awardees.

The focus of this year's Padma awards, according to the officials in the Home Ministry, was on recognising talent of unknown and unsung heroes of the country.

The list also included the 59-year-old decided to devote his life to helping people caught in fire after losing his brother to an inferno and Dr Suniti Solomon, who diagnosed the first AIDS case in India in 1985.