sulabh swatchh bharat

Thursday, 23-May-2019


Agartala| The Union government has sanctioned a total of 42,876 houses for the municipal and Nagar Panchayat areas of Tripura under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana.

Among the sanctioned houses, a total of 17, 368 houses would be given to the beneficiaries of Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC).

As per the prescribed rules for a PMAY house, each beneficiary will get Rs. 1,50,000 from Central government, Rs. 16,666 from State government and each beneficiary will have bear Rs. 1,04,237 as their own contribution for construction of the houses.

The Union government has given Rs. 258 crore to the state government as first installment for PMAY housing scheme and among the all states of the country, Tripura has started the works of first phase by transferring the amount of first installment to the beneficiaries.

The unit cost for these houses has been significantly increased and further through convergence of Swacch Bharat Mission and MGNREGA, a minimum support of nearly Rs. 1.6 lakh to a household is available under the scheme. Similarly, minimum size of a house has been enlarged from 20 sq m under IAY to 25 sq m, including a dedicated area for hygiene cooking.

PMAY envisages a large scale use of local materials along with a complete home with cooking space, electricity provision, LPG, toilet and bathing area, drinking water etc through convergence. To ensure complete transparency and accountability, the entire payments are through Direct Benefit Transfer mode.