sulabh swatchh bharat

Thursday, 23-May-2019


Indian scientists are making their mark in the scientific space with their impactful work

 India Abroad News Service

Out of the 102 researchers set to receive the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the government has chosen four of the Indian American scientists for the US administration’s highest honour to science and engineering professionals.“I congratulate these outstanding scientists and engineers on their impactful work. These innovators are working to help keep the United States on the cutting edge, showing that Federal investments in science lead to advancements that expand our knowledge of the world around us and contribute to our economy,” said Obama in an official statement.
One of them, Pankaj Lal, a Delhi School of Economics alumnus, is an associate professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Studies at Montclair. He has been working for the research that explores interconnections among society and the environment, natural resource conservation and policy and climate change. Kaushik Chowdhury, who received his PhD from the Georgia Institute of Technology, directs the Next Generation Networks and Systems (GENESYS) Lab. He is the winner of the “NSF CAREER” award in 2015 and the Office of Naval Research Director of Research Early Career Award in 2016. An environmental epidemiologist and exposure biologist, Manish Arora’s research focuses on effects of prenatal and early childhood chemical exposures on life-long health trajectories. He is known for his work on biomarkers that utilise human deciduous and permanent teeth to reconstruct the timing of exposure to various harmful chemicals and essential nutrients.
Aradhna Tripati’s lab at UCLA uses the chemistry of natural compounds as well as models as tools to understand how the Earth works to understand climate change, the oceans, and the transfer of carbon between the biosphere, atmosphere and oceans.
This award was first established by President Bill Clinton in 1996. These are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the US president. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education or community outreach.